New 7 Wonders of the World !

You must have read about the wonder of the world, do you still remember the names ? Here is the list of the new 7 wonders which was an initiative started by the Swiss corporation New7Wonders Foundation to choose the New7Wonders of the World from a selection of 200 existing monuments. Below is the list:

1. Great wall of China

The Great Wall of China is a series of fortifications made of stone, brick, tamped earth, wood, and other materials, generally built along an east-to-west line across the historical northern borders of China to protect the Chinese states and empires against the raids and invasions of the various nomadic groups of the Eurasian Steppe.

Several walls were being built and later joined together and made bigger and stronger, are now collectively referred to as the Great Wall.

china-great wall

2. Petra, Jordan

Petra is a historical and archaeological city in southern Jordan. The city is famous for its rock-cut architecture and water conduit system. Another name for Petra is the Rose City due to the color of the stone out of which it is carved. UNESCO has described it as “one of the most precious cultural properties of man’s cultural heritage”.


3. Christ the Redeemer Statue, Brazil

Christ the Redeemer Statue is an Art Deco statue of Jesus Christ in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The statue weighs 635 metric tons and is located at the peak of the 700-metre (2,300 ft) Corcovado mountain in the Tijuca Forest National Park overlooking the city of Rio. A symbol of Christianity across the world, the statue has also become a cultural icon of both Rio and Brazil.



4. Machu Picchu, Peru

Machu Picchu  is a 15th-century Inca citadel situated on a mountain ridge 2,430 metres (7,970 ft) above sea level. It is located in the Machupicchu District in Peru, was built in the classical Inca style, with polished dry-stone walls. Its three primary structures are the Inti Watana, the Temple of the Sun, and the Room of the Three Windows.



5. Taj Mahal, India

The Taj Mahal is an ivory-white marble mausoleum on the south bank of the Yamuna river in the Indian city of Agra. It was commissioned in 1632 by the Mughal emperor, Shah Jahan to house the tomb of his favourite wife, Mumtaz Mahal. The Taj Mahal was designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1983 and in 2007, it was declared a winner of the New 7 Wonders of the World.



6. Chichén Itza, Mexico

The ancient city of Chichén Itza is located on the Yucatan Peninsula in Mexico. The site exhibits a multitude of architectural styles, reminiscent of styles seen in central Mexico and of the Puuc and Chenes styles of the Northern Maya lowland. Chichen Itza was one of the largest Maya cities and it was likely to have been one of the mythical great cities.



7. Colosseum, Italy.

Colosseum is an oval amphitheatre in the centre of the city of Rome, Italy. It is the largest amphitheatre ever built. The Colosseum could hold, it is estimated, between 50,000 and 80,000 spectators, having an average audience of some 65,000. it was used for gladiatorial contests and public spectacles such as mock sea battles.



Special Mention

Great Pyramid of Giza,Egypt

The oldest and largest of the three pyramids in the Giza pyramid complex bordering what is now El Giza, Egypt. It is the oldest of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World, and the only one to remain largely intact.



How many have you seen personally ? Waiting for your responses.

Happy Traveling !


Connect with us on Facebook and Instagram to get updates of our upcoming blogs.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s